Iowa Big Ten Basketball Schedule Released: Hawkeyes Learn Their Path to the Big Dance

By Patrick Vint on August 25, 2016 at 2:59 pm
Fran McCaffery says he likes the schedule THIS MUCH
Jeffrey Becker-USA TODAY Sports
19 Comments

The Big Ten released its 2016-17 schedule Thursday, providing Fran McCaffery and his team with their road map to the NCAA Tournament.  The Big Ten schedule is below:

Iowa 2016-17 Big Ten Basketball Schedule
Wed., December 28 @ Purdue
Sun., January 1 Michigan
Thurs., January 5 @ Nebraska
Sun., January 8 Rutgers
Thurs., January 12 Purdue
Sun., January 15 @ Northwestern
Thurs., January 19 Maryland
Wed., January 25 @ Illinois
Sat., January 28 Ohio State
Tues., January 31 @ Rutgers
Sun., February 5 Nebraska
Wed., February 8 @ Minnesota
Sat., February 11 @ Michigan State
Sat., February 18 Illinois
Tues., February 21 Indiana
Sat., February 25 @ Maryland
Thurs., March 2 @ Wisconsin
Sun., March 5 Penn State

First thoughts:

  • If last year's results are any indication, Iowa just drew one of the conference's best schedules.  Not only do the Hawkeyes only see Wisconsin, Michigan State, Indiana and Ohio State once (the only one-off conference opponent you'd absolutely like to see twice is Penn State), but the road slate looks manageable.  Aside from a December trip to Directional Lafayette, Iowa doesn't face a road game against the conference's top tier until February 11 at Michigan State.
  • Welcome back, Saturday home games!  After last year's schedule left Iowa without a Saturday home conference game for the first time since the Korean War, the Hawkeyes host two opponents on Saturday this season (OSU 1/28 and Illinois 2/18).  It's still a far cry from the 1990s, when Iowa was playing weekly Saturday basketball, but it's better than nothing.
  • If there was ever a case for basketball divisions, this schedule is Exhibit A.  Because a year where Wisconsin does not come to Carver Hawkeye Arena is a year where basketball hate dies a little bit inside.

The full 2016-17 Iowa basketball schedule is available on our creatively-named schedule page.

19 Comments
View 19 Comments