T.J. Hockenson Wins John Mackey Award

By RossWB on December 5, 2018 at 1:21 pm
© Jesse Johnson-USA TODAY Sports

THE CHAMP IS HERE. Or at least The John Mackey Award Winner is here. T.J. Hockenson is your NEW John Mackey Award winner for 2018: 

Hockenson becomes the first-ever sophomore to win the award and is the second Iowa player to win the award (after Dallas Clark in 2002). Iowa and Arkansas (who won the award in 2010 with D.J. Williams and again in 2015 with Hunter Henry) are the only programs to be home to two John Mackey Award winners. 

When Hockenson was announced as a finalist last month, we thought he had an excellent chance to be named the winner, based on how his numbers compared to the other finalists. That remained trued after the regular season was completed: 

T.J. Hockenson, Iowa 46 717 15.6 6
Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri 43 466 10.8 6
Kaden Smith, Stanford 47 635 13.5 2

Pretty hard to argue with Hockenson winning out over the other two, frankly. The award joins the Big Ten Tight End of the Year honor that Hockenson won last week. Hockenson also won the Ozzie Newsome Award from the Touchdown Club of Columbus a few days ago: 

Seems like he might be pretty good at this football thing! Hockenson has been a joy to watch this year and we'll have one more opportunity to watch him, against Mississippi State in the Outback Bowl. After that he'll have a big decision to make about going pro and entering the NFL Draft or returning for another season in Iowa City. Whatever he decides, we'll wish him the best. 

In the meantime, do you need to see some Hockenson GIFs? I think you do. 

He leaps defenders in a single bound!

Seriously, he loved jumping over dudes: 

He could outrun defenders too: 

No, really: 

He flattened defenders who dared to challenge him, too. 

Need a clutch catch? Yep, he did that too: 

And he could get a little tricky too: 

Congrats on the Mackey Award, T.J.

View 31 Comments