Hawks in the NFL: Super Bowl

By Courtney Baumann on February 5, 2019 at 4:28 pm
go adrian go
ajaclay99 (Instagram)

Four Former Hawkeyes Earned a Ring

Four former Hawkeye football players were named Super Bowl champions last Sunday night. Adrian Clayborn, Cole Croston and Riley McCarron hold the title for the first time in their career, while James Ferentz is now a two-time Super Bowl champion. The four earned the honor at the end of a 13-3 victory for the New England Patriots over the Los Angeles Rams. 

Clayborn, who played against the Patriots two years ago in the big game, contributed a QB hit to the New England defense. This year was Clayborn's eighth in the league, and needless to say, he was pretty excited about finally holding the title. 

He even got to reunite with his former head coach, who was at the big game supporting his son and a few of his former players. 

You can check out some more of Clayborn's pics from the game (and today's championship parade in Boston) on his Instagram.

Clayborn was the only former Hawkeye to play on the New England side, as Ferentz was a healthy inactive, McCarron was on injured reserve, and Croston was a member of the practice squad. 

They still got to touch the Lombardi Trophy, nonetheless. 

Ferentz joined some pretty exclusive company with the win: 

 Austin Blythe was unfortunately on the losing side of the game, but he and his fellow offensive linemen were named Offensive Line of the Year... too bad it didn't show up in Atlanta. 

And that's a wrap on Hawks in the NFL 'til fall. 

View 6 Comments