Marshal Yanda Named To NFL All-Decade Team

By RossWB on April 7, 2020 at 9:55 am
go yanda go
© Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports
1 Comment

In the absence of live sports, all we have to consume the sports-shaped hole in our lives is lists and retrospection. Enter: the NFL's All-Decade Team! The NFL released its all-decade team for the 2010s this week and it's of particular interest to Iowa fans for one reason: 


Yanda, who announced his retirement from pro football earlier this year, was one of four guards named to the 2010s All-Decade team, along with Jahri Evans, Logan Mankins, and Zack Martin. More impressively, Yanda was also one of just eight unanimous selections to the team -- and one of only two unanimous selections among offensive linemen (along with fellow AFC North masher -- and Big Ten West alum -- Joe Thomas). 

The other seven unanimous selections were Tom Brady, Adrian Peterson, Joe Thomas, JJ Watt, Aaron Donald, Von Miller, and Justin Tucker. Pretty good company to keep. 

In the 2010s, Yanda was named to the Pro Bowl for six straight seasons from 2011 to 2016, and then again in 2018 and 2019 after missing most of the 2017 season due to injury. He was also named a First Team All-Pro in 2014 and 2015 and a Second Team All-Pro in 2011, 2012, 2016, 2018, and 2019. He was, by any measure, one of the best, most consistent, and most dominant interior linemen in the NFL from the time the decade began to the time it ended. 

Here are the other members of the NFL All-Decade team for the 2010s: 

Congratulations to Yanda on this thoroughly well-deserved honor. 

1 Comment
View 1 Comments