Megan Gustafson Sets Big Ten Record(s), Named to Wooden Award List

By RossWB on February 8, 2019 at 1:56 pm
go megan go
© Jeffrey Becker-USA TODAY Sports

We're a few days late to note this, but better late than never and we didn't want to ignore a record-setting achievement for Megan Gustafson. Namely, that Megan Gustafson is officially the Queen of the Big Ten Player of the Week Award.

Gustafson was named Big Ten Player of the Week earlier this week, an achievement which broke two existing Big Ten records. This was Gustafson's 10th Player of the Week honor of the season, breaking her own record for most Player of the Week awards in a single season (set last year at nine). It was also the 20th Player of the Week honor her career, which broke the Big Ten record of 19 previously held by Ohio State's Jantel Lavender.

As you might have noticed from looking at the calendar, the season is not yet over -- far from it, in fact. Iowa still has another three weeks of games to play, which means Gustafson could put the single-season and career records for Player of the Week out of sight. After all, she should already be a heavy favorite to be named Player of the Week again next week, given her monstrously good performance in last night's win over Michigan State (41 points and 14 rebounds on 17/24 shooting).

Gustafson's season-long heroics are rightfully earning her recognition outside the Big Ten, too. This week Gustafson was named to the Women's Wooden Award Late-Season Top 20. She and Maryland's Kaila Charles were the only Big Ten players to make the list. Notre Dame, UConn, Oregon, and Baylor each had two women in the final Top 20. The final ballot (15 players) will be announced in early March, with the Wooden Award All-American Team being released the week of the Elite Eight and the Wooden Award winner being unveiled during ESPN's College Basketball Awards on Friday, April 12. 

Finally, Gustafson was also named one of 10 finalists for the 2018-19 Senior CLASS Award. CLASS is an acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School and in order to be eligible, nominees "must have notable achievements in four areas of excellence, including community, classroom, character, and competition." The finalists were chosen by national media, but the final winner is chosen by a combination of fan voting (1/3) and input from Division I coaches and members of the national media (2/3). You can vote for Gustafson right here. You should absolutely do so because right now she's in third behind Mississippi State's Teaira McCowan and Iowa State's Bridget Carleton. We can't let Team Cowbell or ISU's online Bot Army win. Again: vote here

View 13 Comments