Iowa Wrestlers Win Nine Titles at Luther Open

By RossWB on November 14, 2017 at 5:33 pm
Iowa-on-Iowa violence!
IAWrestle (YouTube)

The college wrestling season is officially underway and while Iowa hasn't wrestled any dual meets yet (those begin with the Iowa City Duals this Friday), they have tasted some competition. 20 Hawkeyes competed at the Luther Open in Decorah last weekend and nine came home with titles. The Luther Open features two divisions, the Elite division, featuring mainly more experienced wrestlers, and the Silver division, featuring primarily freshmen. Seven of Iowa's titles came in the Elite division and two came in the Silver division; three title matches featured intrasquad action with two Iowa wrestlers facing off in the final. 

This event was mainly attended by Iowa's projected backups; only a couple likely starters made the trip. Iowa's starters should see their first real action of the year at the Iowa City Duals later this week. Iowa's dominance at the event comes as little surprise, given that most of the other wrestlers there were from smaller schools in lower divisions (Minnesota State Mankato, Luther, Coe, Wisconsin-Whitewater, Upper Iowa, etc.). So we probably shouldn't read too much into these results; that said, it's always good to go out and win and many of Iowa's wrestlers did what they should do against weaker opponents: dominate. There were bonus points aplenty for Iowa competitors here. 

125: Justin Stickley went 3-0 in the Elite division to win the title, scoring another bonus point win (a 14-4 major decision) over his main rival on the Iowa roster (Perez Perez). Stickley only won his first match via 12-8 decision, but he had a fall prior to his major decision win in the finals. 

133: Paul Glynn topped Phillip Laux at the wrestle-offs a week ago, but Laux won the title in the Elite division here. Glynn was upset by Wisconsin-Whitewater's Hazen Rice 8-4 in the semis; Laux beat Rice via 10-0 major decision in the finals. The starter at this weight seems still very much up in the air.

141: Max Murin was the big winner at this weight, claiming top honors after a 5-2 decision win over teammate Carter Happel. Murin also had a major decision and two pins on his way to the finals, as well as a 12-6 win over teammate Aaron Meyer. Happel went 4-0 on his way to the final against Murin, but three of these four wins were by regular decision. Aaron Meyer placed fourth in the Elite Division at 141, while Danny Murphy failed to place.

149: Jeren Glosser won the Elite division title at this weight, besting teammate Stephen Alvarez in the final with a pin in under four minutes (3:55). Glosser had two other pins and a 5-2 decision win over Wisconsin-La Crosse's Spencer Nevills. Alvarez won two bouts and received a medical forfeit in the semifinals to make the final. 

157: Keegan Shaw was runner-up in the Elite division here, losing to former Iowa teammate Logan Thomsen (now at Wartburg) in the final, 6-4. Shaw had a pin, a tech fall, and a major decision in his three matches prior to the final. 

165: Jeremiah Moody won the Elite division title here, pinning Wartburg's Derek Lee Loy in 5:38 in the final. That win came came after two major decisions and a technical fall in his preceding matches. Logan McQuillen finished third at this weight, with three decision wins, a major decision win, and a wild 14-12 loss in overtime. 

174: n/a

184: Myles Wilson took the Silver division title here with a 6-4 win over Upper Iowa's Dalton Hahn in the final. He had a decision and two tech fall wins prior to get to the finals. 

197: Superstar freshman Jacob Warner took the Elite division title in dominating fashion; he went 4-0 with two pins, a technical fall, and a major decision in the finals. Not bad for the true freshman. Cade Brownlee went 3-2 and placed 8th, while Steven Holloway went 2-2 in the Elite division and did not place. Former footballer Sam Cook took first place in the Silver division, narrowly beating teammate Connor Corbin in the final, 3-2. Cook had a pin, a technical fall, and a decision win prior to that. Corbin finished second in the Silver division with two pins and a decision prior to his loss to Cook.

285: True freshman Aaron Costello took first place in the Elite division with a pin in 2:42 over Upper Iowa's Triston Westerlund in the final. Prior to that, Costello had two decision wins and another pin.

Full results from the Luther Open are available here and you can watch several of the matches on IAWrestle's YouTube channel as well. 

Congratulations to all the Iowa wrestlers who participated in the Luther Open. A few of Iowa's Luther Open participants will next be seen at the Iowa City Duals, but most will be in action this weekend at the Lindenwood Open in St. Charles, Missouri; IAWrestle has a full rundown of which Iowa wrestlers will be competing there. 

View 6 Comments